Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University

Graduates: 827
Undergraduates: 5,020
Graduates: 827
Setting: Suburban
In-state Tuition: 8,298
Out-of-state Tuition: 15,798
Student/Faculty Ratio: 20:1
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1120 / 16 / 2.0
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 48:52
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 50
Application Deadline: October, 1

Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University, also known as Alabama A&M University or AAMU, is a public, historically black, land-grant university located in Normal, Madison County, Alabama, United States.

To employ the resident knowledge and expertise in various disciplines in science and technology in the University for improving the lives of people in Alabama, the nation and the world by incorporating international dimensions into teaching, discovery and scholarship?, outreach or public service programs so that... * Alabama A&M University�s students learning experience is enhanced and graduates understand and appreciate the global environment in which all disciplines function and are therefore, market-ready; * AAMU research and outreach programs have access to the best ideas and technologies regardless of where they are generated; * Alabama's international competitiveness within a sustainable economic development and growth is strengthened and maintained. The resident knowledge and expertise in various international disciplines, in science and technology in the University must then be employed for improving the lives of people in Alabama, the nation and the world.

Alabama A&M was originally established by an act of the Alabama State Legislature in 1873 as the State Normal School and University for the Education of the Colored Teachers and Students. Peyton Finley introduced twin bills in the State Board of Education for the establishment of four "normal" schools for whites and blacks in 1875. In that same year, William Hooper Councill became founder of Alabama A&M University. Land on which much of the original campus was built, was acquired from the Conley Family, a notable local family established prior to the Civil War. Members of the family have attended as students, or worked as staff, at Alabama A&M in each year of the school's operation since its founding. By 1878, the state appropriation increased to $2,000 and the school changed its name to the State Normal and Industrial School. Industrial training began in 1883. In 1885 the name was changed to State Normal and Industrial School of Huntsville. By 1890, the students numbered 300, with 11 teachers, the school site became known as Normal, Alabama, and a post office was established. Students were called "Normalites." In 1891, the school was designated as a land-grant college through legislative enactment February 13 and received funds as a land-grant college under the terms of the Morrill Act of 1890. In 1896 the name was changed to The State Agricultural and Mechanical College for Negroes. In 1919, the school became the State Agricultural and Mechanical Institute for Negroes, and in 1948 it was renamed the Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical College. In 1939, the State Board of Education granted authority to offer course work on the senior college level. In 1949, the name changed to Alabama A&M College. AAMU became fully accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools in 1963. Finally, in June 1969, the school adopted its current name. In July 1996, the Board of Trustees appointed Dr. John T. Gibson as the university�s ninth president and the one who would ultimately lead the institution into the new millennium. A native of Montgomery, Ala., and a graduate of Tuskegee University and the University of Colorado-Boulder, Gibson immediately began implementation of his ambitious "eight-step plan". The Gibson administration saw the construction of the huge, visionary West Campus Complex, the erection of the 21,000-seat Louis Crews Stadium, the renovations and re-roofing of key buildings and the moving of athletic programs to the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC). The long-awaited School of Engineering and Technology was built in 2002, and the Ph.D. program in Reading/Literacy was established. In 2008, Alabama Examiners of Public Accounts reported $1.2 million of missing funds during an audit covering the period of 2002 through 2005. In its publication, "Past Presidents," AAMU notes that the tenth president, Dr. Robert R. Jennings, began his duties in January 2006 and launched a mission to restore the University�s community engagement and focus more on its students. Throughout his brief tenure, Jennings developed a number of programs aimed at making �The Hill� a place more in tune with the quality of student life, including a VIP student dining facility, graduate student convenience store/lounge, improved campus lighting, stream-lined processes for business and finance, and the implementation of a campus wide operational system. On March 31, 2008, the school's Trustees fired Jennings on the grounds that Jennings had given his assistant paid leave

Suburban, 880 acres (3.6 km2)

Louis Crews former head football coach from 1960 to 1975. He compiled a record of 94-52-3. He is the winningest coach at Alabama A&M Don Calloway 2002 politician, Member of the Missouri House of Representatives from the 71st district Dannette Young-Stone 1986 former track athlete, who won Olympic gold and silver medals in the 4 X 100 relay in 1988 and 1992 Marc Lacy 1991 Author, spoken word poet, lecturer, and government contractor Shewanda Pugh 2003 Author Charles Scales 1976 Retired Associate Deputy Administrator, NASA Howard Ballard former National Football League player (2 time Pro-Bowler, 4 time Super Bowler) Michael Crooms Music Producer Robert Mathis National Football League defensive end for Indianapolis Colts Frank Kearse National Football League defensive tackle for Carolina Panthers Jamaal Johnson-Webb 2012 current NFL offensive lineman Fernandez Shaw current Arena Football League defensive end Sun Ra attended jazz musician Bama Boyz Music Producers Mickell Gladness 2008 former NBA player Mfana Futhi Bhembe 2008 former soccer player for the Bulldogs who went on to play in soccer leagues in Swaziland and in Major League Soccer. Sylvester Croom, Sr. minister and community leader in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Father of first African-American SEC head football coach Sylvester Croom Jr. John Stallworth 1974 (MBA 1986) National Football League Hall of Fame member, former Pittsburgh Steelers player and four time Pro-Bowler Ruben Studdard attended (received football scholarship) American Idol season 2 winner Barry Wagner former Arena Football League player Kendrick Rogers former National Football League player L. Vann Pettaway 1980 former men's head basketball coach Cleon Jones former Major League Baseball player Brick Haley 1988 NFL and College football defensive coach Jean Harbor 1986 former soccer player for the Bulldogs who went on to play in various soccer leagues in Nigeria and the United States Pearlie Mae Lamb Jenkins female basketball standout, first Bulldog to dunk in a game. Lwazi Maziya former soccer player for the Bulldogs who went on to play with Mbabane Swallows of the Swazi Premier League and the Swaziland national football team.

Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):