Arizona State University

Graduates: 13091
Undergraduates: 38735
Graduates: 13091
Setting: Urban
In-state Tuition: $9,484.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $23,136.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 23:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1145 / 25 / 3.46
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 56:44
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 84%

Arizona State University (commonly referred to as ASU or Arizona State) is a national space-grant institution and public metropolitan research university located on several campuses spread across the Phoenix, Arizona, Metropolitan Area. It is the largest public university in the United States by enrollment. Founded in 1885 as the Territorial Normal School at Tempe, the school underwent a series of changes in name and curriculum, and in 1945 it came under control of the Arizona Board of Regents and was renamed Arizona State College.
A 1958 statewide ballot measure gave the university its present name. In 1994 ASU was classified as a Research I institute; thus, making Arizona State one of the newest major research universities (public or private) in the nation. Arizona State's mission is to create a model of the “New American University” whose efficacy is measured “by those it includes and how they succeed, not by those it excludes”. Currently, Arizona State University is ranked among the Top 25 research institutes in the U.S. in terms of research output, innovation, development, research expenditures, number of awarded patents, and awarded research grant proposals.

To establish ASU as the model for a New American University, measured not by who we exclude, but rather by who we include and how they succeed; pursuing research and discovery that benefits the public good; assuming major responsibility for the economic, social, and cultural vitality and health and well-being of the community.

Arizona State University was established as the Territorial Normal School at Tempe on March 12, 1885, when the 13th Arizona Territorial Legislature passed an act to create a normal school to train teachers for the Arizona Territory. The campus comprised a single, four-room schoolhouse on a 20-acre plot largely donated by Tempe residents George and Martha Wilson. Classes began with 33 students on February 8, 1886. The curriculum evolved over the years and the name was changed several times; the institution was also known as Arizona Territorial Normal School (1889–1896), Arizona Normal School (1896–1899), Normal School of Arizona (1899–1901), and Tempe Normal School (1901–1925). The school accepted both high school students and graduates, and awarded high school diplomas and teaching certificates to those who completed the requirements
In the 1920s, the school moved to an all post-secondary curriculum. Supported by the Alumni Association, in 1923 the school stopped offering high school courses and added a high school diploma to the admissions requirements. In 1925 the school became the Tempe State Teachers College and offered four-year Bachelor of Education degrees as well as two-year teaching certificates. In 1929, the legislature authorized Bachelor of Arts in Education degrees as well, and the school was renamed the Arizona State Teachers College.
The first dormitories built in the state were constructed under his supervision. Of the 18 buildings constructed while Matthews was president, six are still currently in use. Matthews envisioned an "evergreen campus," with many shrubs brought to the campus. He also implemented the planting of Palm Walk, now one of the feature landmarks of the Tempe campus. His legacy is being continued to this day with the main campus having the honor of being declared a nationally recognized arboretum.
During the Great Depression, Ralph W. Swetman was hired as president for a three-year term. Although enrollment increased by almost 100% during his tenure due to the depression, many faculty were terminated and faculty salaries were cut.

ASU's academic programs are spread across campuses in the Phoenix Metropolitan Area; however, unlike most multi-campus institutions, ASU describes itself as "one university in many places," explaining that it is "not a system with separate campuses, and not one main campus with branch campuses."

Arizona State University has produced over 300,000 alumni worldwide. The university has produced many notable figures over its 125-year history, including: U.S. Senator Carl Hayden (who was instrumental in the growth of Central Arizona), former Congressman Barry Goldwater, Jr., and Silver Star recipient Pat Tillman who left his professional football career to enlist in the United States Army in the aftermath of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. Other notable alumni include current U.S. Congressional Representatives Ed Pastor, Harry Mitchell, Kyrsten Sinema(the first openly bisexual person elected to Congress), among others; Eric Crown, CEO and co-founder of Insight Enterprises, Inc.; Ira A. Fulton, philanthropist and founder of Fulton Homes; Craig Weatherup, former Chairman of PepsiCo; Kate Spade, namesake and co-Founder of Kate Spade New York; Larry Carter, CFO of Cisco Systems; Doug Ducey, former partner and CEO of Coldstone Creamery and the 32nd Treasurer of Arizona; and Scott Smith, the current mayor of the City of Mesa.

Alumni Association:

Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):