Bowling Green State University

Graduates: 2284
Undergraduates: 14477
Graduates: 2284
Setting: Small
In-state Tuition: $9,096.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $16,404.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 18:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1505 / 23 / 3.3
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 44:56
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 53%

Bowling Green State University is a public university located in Bowling Green, Ohio, United States. The 1,338-acre (541.5 ha) main academic and residential campus is located 22 miles (35 km) south of Toledo, Ohio. The institution was granted a charter in 1910 as a normal school, specializing in teacher training and education, as part of the Lowry Normal School Bill that authorized two new normal schools in the state of Ohio. Over the university's history, it developed from a small rural normal school into a comprehensive public university.
As of 2012 Bowling Green offered over 200 undergraduate programs, as well as master's and doctoral degrees through eight academic colleges. Its academic programs have been nationally ranked by Forbes Magazine, U.S. News & World Report, and Washington Monthly. The 2011 Carnegie Foundation classified BGSU as having "high research activity". Research projects in the areas of psychology, sociology, education and human development, energy and sustainability are among the most prominent.
BGSU had an on-campus residential student population of 6,500 students and a total student population of over 17,000 students as of 2011. The university also maintains a satellite campus, known as BGSU Firelands, in Huron, Ohio, 60 miles (97 km) east of the main campus. Although the majority of students attend classes on BGSU's main campus, about 2,500 students attend classes at Firelands and about 1,000 additional students at extension locations or online. About 85% of Bowling Green's students are from Ohio.

Bowling Green State University provides educational experiences inside and outside the classroom that enhance the lives of students, faculty and staff. Students are prepared for lifelong career growth, lives of engaged citizenship and leadership in a global society. Within our learning community, we build a welcoming, safe and diverse environment where the creative ideas and achievements of all can benefit others throughout Ohio, the nation and the world.

The movement for a public high learning institution in northwestern Ohio began in the late 1800s as part of the growth in public institutions during the Progressive Era to meet demands for training and professional development of teachers.During the period, people of northwestern Ohio campaigned for a school in their region to produce better quality education and educators.The movement argued that the existing universities, The Ohio State University in Columbus, Miami University in Oxford and Ohio University in Athens, were distant and the region lacked a state-supported school of its own.
In 1910, the Ohio General Assembly passed the Lowry Normal School Bill that authorized Governor Judson Harmon to appoint the Commission on Normal School Sites to survey forty communities for two sites for normal schools, one in northeastern Ohio and one in northwestern Ohio. The commission examined population within a 25-mile (40.2 km) radius of each community, along with railroad and transportation infrastructure, the moral atmosphere, health and sanitary conditions and site suitability. Bowling Green offered four possible sites and became one of four finalists including Fremont, Napoleon, and Van Wert. Despite the town being the home of John Lowry, Napoleon was ruled out because the commission found it had numerous saloons. 
Fremont was eliminated mainly due to the specific stipulations imposed by the President Rutherford B. Hayes Memorial Commission. Bowling Green was chosen on November 10, 1910 over Van Wert in a 3–2 vote by the commission. The site located on 82.5 acres (0.334 km2) of primarily rural land and a small town park, nearby railroad and transportation infrastructure, its central location in the region, and Bowling Green's dry status were major factors that the town was chosen by the commission. At the same time, the commission chose Kent for a school in Northeastern Ohio. Over the years 1911 and 1912, the Board of Trustees was appointed by the Governor and elected a school president on February 16, 1912. A campus plan was created and $150,000 was appropriated to develop the campus and construct the first buildings.

The main academic and residential campus is located on the northeast side of Bowling Green. The campus is arranged in a rectangle roughly one and a half miles long and one mile wide. It includes over 116 buildings on 1,338 acres (5.41 km2). The campus is bordered by Wooster Street to the south, Thurstin Avenue to the west, Poe Road to the north, and I-75 to the east. The university also owns buildings and parking lots throughout Bowling Green and the Bowling Green Research Enterprise Park just east of I-75. Ridge Street and East Merry Street run east-west through campus and Mercer Street bisects campus on a north-south axis.

Alumni of Bowling Green State University have become notable in a variety of different fields including politics and government, business, science, literature, arts and entertainment, and athletics. A number of Bowling Green Falcons have excelled at the collegiate, Olympic, and professional levels sports, including: Kevin Bieksa, Rob Blake, Dan Bylsma, Scott Hamilton, Orel Hershiser, Mike McCullough, George McPhee. Ken Morrow, Don Nehlen, Jordan Sigalet, Nate Thurmond, and Dave Wottle. Alumni involved in government and politics include: former Israeli ambassador Daniel Ayalon, Ohio state senator Kevin Coughlin., Ohio state senator Randy Gardner,and current Ohio congressman Tim Ryan. Other notable alumni include: explorer Conrad Allen, author Philana Marie Boles, TCU Chancellor Victor J. Boschini actor Tim Conway, ESPN sportscaster Jay Crawford NYU economic professor William Easterly, CBS News Correspondent Steve Hartman, ESPN sportscaster Jason Jackson, Adobe Systems President and CEO Shantanu Narayen, actress Eva Marie Saint, and author James Carlos Blake, winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. and Chris Jones who plays for the New England Patriots in the National Football League.



Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):