Brown University

Undergraduates: 6190
Setting: Medium four-year, highly residential
In-state Tuition: $44,608.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $44,608.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 9:1
Public/Private: Private
Male/Female Ratio: 48:52
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 8%

The mission of Brown University is to serve the community, the nation, and the world by discovering, communicating, and preserving knowledge and understanding in a spirit of free inquiry, and by educating and preparing students to discharge the offices of life with usefulness and reputation. We do this through a partnership of students and teachers in a unified community known as a university-college.

Founded in 1764 prior to American independence from the British Empire as the College in the English Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Brown is the third oldest institution of higher education in New England and seventh oldest in the United States. The university consists of The College, Graduate School, Alpert Medical School, the School of Engineering, and the Brown University School of Public Health. Brown's international programs are organized through the Watson Institute for International Studies.

As members of the Department of Public Safety at Brown University our mission is to contribute toward the quality of University life by fostering a stable environment in which security is balanced with freedom of movement, and individual rights are balanced with community needs. The success of this mission depends upon a true partnership between Public Safety personnel, and the diverse population of students, staff, faculty, and visitors that constitute the University community - a partnership built on mutual respect and responsibility. Toward that partnership, the members of the Department of Public Safety pledge their respect for the needs and rights of the community, their diligence and professionalism in the protection of persons, property and rights, and to their determination to ever seek new and better ways to reduce the opportunity for crime, to increase safety awareness, and to encourage a sense of communal concern for each other's safety and well-being. Toward that partnership, we contend that all students, staff, faculty, and administrators must also accept their individual and collective responsibilities to make the University a place which is free of fear and to provide a civil and orderly environment which fosters learning, research, and creativity. In achieving these goals, the Department of Public Safety stands accountable to the University community and open to the ideas and concerns of its members.

The history of Brown University spans nearly two hundred and fifty years. Chartered in 1764 as "the College or University in the English Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, in New England, in America" and known in its early years as Rhode Island College, Brown's history is closely related to that of Rhode Island and greater New England.

Urban 143 acres (579,000 m�)

Alumni in the computer sciences and industry include Apple Macintosh and Mac OS designer Andy Hertzfeld '75, architect of Intel 386, 486, and Pentium microprocessors John H. Crawford '75, first Microsoft Windows project chief Brad Silverberg, Apple Computer CEO (1983�1993) John Sculley '61, MIT computer science chair John Guttag '71, University of Washington computer science chair Ed Lazowska '72, inventor of the first silicon transistor Gordon Kidd Teal '31. Alumni in the arts and media include actress Laura Linney '86, actor John Krasinski '01, Modern Family actress Julie Bowen '91, Harry Potter films actress Emma Watson '14, MSNBC program hosts Chris Hayes '01 and Alex Wagner '99, NPR program host Ira Glass '82, About a Boy actor David Walton '01, singer-composer Mary Chapin Carpenter '81, CSI: NY actor Hill Harper, musicians Damian Kulash '98 and Dhani Harrison '02, film directors Todd Haynes '85, Doug Liman '88, and Davis Guggenheim '86, and director-actor Tim Blake Nelson '86, New Yorker humorist and Marx Brothers screenwriter S.J. Perelman '25, novelists Nathanael West '24, Jeffrey Eugenides '83, Rick Moody '83, Edwidge Danticat (MFA '93), Marilynne Robinson '66, and Amity Gaige '95, playwrights Sarah Ruhl '97, Lynn Nottage '86, Richard Foreman '59, Alfred Uhry '58, and Nilo Cruz (MFA '94), actress Jo Beth Williams '70, composer Duncan Sheik '92, singer Lisa Loeb '90, Rockefeller Center and Tribune Tower architect Raymond Hood (1902), composer and synthesizer pioneer Wendy Carlos '62, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist James Risen '77, composer Rusty Magee, political pundit Mara Liasson, 20th Century Fox Film Group president Tom Rothman '76, Black Entertainment Television chairman and CEO Debra L. Lee '76, HBO Sports president Ross Greenburg '77, MTV Films and Nick Movies president Scott Aversano '91, CNN US News Operations president Jonathan Klein '80, Bravo TV president Lauren Zalaznick '84.

Chief_administrator: Christina Paxson (President)
Phone: 4018631000
Geographic region: New England CT ME MA NH RI VT
Financial aid office website:
Net price calculator web address:
Online application website:
Admission office website:
Undergraduate application fee: $75.00
Graduate application fee: $75.00
Member of National Athletic Association: Yes
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): Yes
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC): Yes
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA): Yes
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA): No
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA): No