California State University

Undergraduates: 19574
Setting: Urban
In-state Tuition: $12,864.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $35,742.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 27:1
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1315 / 18 / 3.18
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 42:58
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 61%

The California State University (Cal State or CSU) is a public university system in California. Composed of 23 campuses and eight off-campus centers enrolling 437,000 students with 44,000 faculty members and staff,[4] CSU is the largest four-year public university system in the United States.[2] It is one of three public higher education systems in the state, with the other two being the University of California system and the California Community College system.

To advance and extend knowledge, learning, and culture, especially throughout California. To provide opportunities for individuals to develop intellectually, personally, and professionally. To prepare significant numbers of educated, responsible people to contribute to California's schools, economy, culture, and future. To encourage and provide access to an excellent education to all who are prepared for and wish to participate in collegiate study. To offer undergraduate and graduate instruction leading to bachelor's and higher degrees in the liberal arts and sciences, the applied fields, and the professions, including the doctoral degree when authorized. To prepare students for an international, multi-cultural society. To provide public services that enrich the university and its communities.

Today's California State University system is the direct descendant of the Minns Evening Normal School, a normal school in San Francisco that educated the city's future teachers in association with the high school system. The school was taken over by the state in 1862 and moved to San Jose as the California State Normal School; it eventually evolved into San Jose State University. A southern branch of the California State Normal School campus was created in Los Angeles in 1882. In 1887, the California legislature dropped the word "California" from the name of the San Jose and Los Angeles schools, renaming them "State Normal Schools." Later Chico (1887), San Diego (1897), and other schools became part of the State Normal School system. In 1919, the State Normal School at Los Angeles became the Southern Branch of the University of California; it is now the University of California at Los Angeles. In 1921, the State Normal Schools were renamed State Teachers Colleges. By this time most of the campuses started to become identified by their city names plus the word "state" (e.g., "San Jose State," "San Diego State," "San Francisco State"). In 1935, the State Teachers Colleges were upgraded to State Colleges, with a full four-year liberal arts curriculum. They were administered by the California State Department of Education in Sacramento. The Donahoe Higher Education Act of 1960 gave the system greater autonomy from the State of California. The postwar period brought a great expansion in the number of colleges in the system. Campuses in Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Long Beach were added from 1947 through 1949. Next, seven more schools were authorized to be established between 1957 and 1960. Six more campuses joined the system after the establishment of the Donohoe Higher Education Act in 1960 bringing the total number to 23. In 1972, the system became The California State University and Colleges, and all of the campuses were renamed with the words "California State University" in their names. Former San Diego State University student body president Calvin Robinson wrote the bill, which was signed into law by Governor Ronald Reagan, that allowed every California State University the option to revert the schools back to their earlier names: San Jose State, San Diego State, San Francisco State, etc. In 1982, the CSU system dropped the word "colleges" from its name. Today the campuses of the CSU include comprehensive university and polytechnic universities along with the only maritime academy in the western United States - one that receives aid from the U.S. Maritime Administration.

23 campuses (one research university, two polytechnic universities, one maritime academy, 19 general comprehensive campuses)

Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):