Campbellsville University

Graduates: 554
Undergraduates: 3093
Graduates: 554
Setting: Small four-year, primarily residential
In-state Tuition: $21,696.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $21,696.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 13:1
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1384 / 21 / 3.25
Public/Private: Private
Male/Female Ratio: 42:58
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: Baptist Church
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 72%

Campbellsville University, also known as CU, is a private university in Campbellsville, Kentucky, the seat of Taylor County. Founded as Russell Creek Academy, a Baptist institution, the university currently enrolls more than 3,000 students and is open to students of all denominations.

Campbellsville University is a comprehensive, Christian institution that offers pre-professional, undergraduate and graduate programs. The university is dedicated to academic excellence solidly grounded in the liberal arts that fosters personal growth, integrity and professional preparation within a caring environment. The university prepares students as Christian servant leaders for life-long learning, continued scholarship, and active participation in a diverse, global society.

Campbellsville University was founded in 1906 by the Russell Creek Baptist Association. The president of the university is Michael V. Carter, Ph.D. The immediate past president is Kenneth W. Winters (born 1934), a Republican state senator from District 1 based in Murray in southwestern Kentucky. Before Winters, the president was William Randolph "Randy" Davenport of Campbellsville, who served 1969�1988. Fuller Harding, an attorney and former state representative from Campbellsville, served on the CU board of trustees for five years. His father, Abel Turner Harding (1881�1966), had been instrumental in raising funds to establish Russell Creek Academy, the forerunner of Campbellsville College. Forest Shely, a physician in Campbellsville and a 1943 graduate of the former Campbellsville Junior College, served as a trustee of the university for the fifty-six years from 1954 until his death in 2010.

80-acre (320,000 m2)

Sandra Blanton (Class of 1977), Democratic member of the Indiana House of Representatives; daughter of former CU vice president Robert S. Clark Anna Mary Hack Byrdwell, (Class of 1960), Recipient of the Distinguished Cooperative Program Leadership Award from the Kentucky Baptist Convention in 2007 for her years of leadership in supporting the Cooperative Program. Chris Clarke, Southern Baptist missionary to the equestrian community in Kentucky and neighboring states Nancy Cox, Lexington, KY television personality (attended 1987) Phil Cunningham, Troy University head basketball coach Veronica Duka, former Miss Campbellsville; was Miss Kentucky in 1996; and Top 10 Semifinalist in Miss America pageant in 1997 Damon R. Eubank (Class of 1981), Kentucky historian and CU faculty member since 1989. Dan Flanagan, (Class of 1965), Member of the board of directors of the Farm Credit Services of Mid-America. In 2005, he was selected as the "Agribusiness Person of the Year" and in 2009 was named "Master Conservationist of the Year" by the Soil Conservation Council. DeWayne Frazier (Class of 1998), associate vice president for academic affairs at Campbellsville University Nathan Gaddis, (Attended 1996-1997), Grammy nominated singer/songwriter as a member of the Christian vocal group TrueVibe. TrueVibe was named Most Successful New Artist of 2001 by media outlets. E. Bruce Heilman, (Class of 1949), member of the CU board of trustees, chancellor of the University of Richmond in Richmond, Virginia, author of An Interruption That Lasted a Lifetime: My First Eighty Years[3] Vernie McGaha (Class of 1969), Republican member of the Kentucky Senate from the 15th district, 1997�2013 Rick Stansbury, former men's head basketball coach at Mississippi State University Simon Van Booy (attended 1995), author Randy Wayne, an American actor Andy Wilson, (Class of 1990), vice chancellor for university advancement for the University of Tennessee at Martin Wallace Wilkinson, governor of Kentucky, 1987�1991

Chief_administrator: Michael V Carter (President)
Fax: 2707895060
Phone: 27079000000000
Geographic region: Southeast AL AR FL GA KY LA MS NC SC TN VA WV
Financial aid office website:
Net price calculator web address:
Online application website:
Admission office website:
Undergraduate application fee: $20.00
Graduate application fee: $25.00
Member of National Athletic Association: Yes
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): No
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC): No
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA): No
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA): No
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA): Yes