Charleston Southern University

Graduates: 351
Undergraduates: 2922
Graduates: 351
Setting: Small four-year, primarily residential
In-state Tuition: $22,050.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $22,050.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 15:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: / / 3.46
Public/Private: Private
Male/Female Ratio: 37:63
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: Baptist Church
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 58%

Charleston Southern University, founded in 1964 as Baptist College, is an independent comprehensive university located in North Charleston, South Carolina. Charleston Southern enrolls 3,300 students. Affiliated with the South Carolina Baptist Convention, the university's vision is to be nationally recognized for integrating faith in learning, leading and serving

The mission of the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Charleston Southern University is to incubate technically excellent, highly ethical, can-do computer professionals who will learn, lead and serve from a Biblical world view. To this end, we focus on the unchanging fundamentals of computer science, and emphasize Christian character and ethical behavior. Specifically we strive to empower each graduate with at least the ability to reason and problem solve, and to program proficiently in at least one programming language; to understand the theoretical underpinnings of Computing Science, and to leverage that understanding in the solution of significant problems in the computing sciences, especially in programming, networking and system administration; to effectively communicate in oral and/or written forms; and to evaluate and articulate the ethical and social issues encountered in the profession from a Biblical World View.

Charleston Southern University, formerly Baptist College at Charleston, is one of the largest accredited, private universities in South Carolina. Affiliated with the South Carolina Baptist Convention, the University offers five undergraduate degrees (45 majors) and six graduate degree programs and enrolls 3,300 students. The University has graduated more than 18,000 students in its 50-year history. The urgent need for another college in the Lowcountry became a matter of active and organized consideration in 1954. South Carolina Baptists made its establishment a matter of official deliberation at a meeting of the General Board in September 1955. After considerable study by official education committees, both locally and conventionwide, the Capital Needs Committee of the State Convention brought a recommendation which initiated efforts to begin seeking both a site and funds for the establishment of a college. The South Carolina Baptist Convention agreed to support the plan, and more than 70,000 individuals made contributions ranging from $1 to $20,000. Former Charleston mayor, J. Palmer Gaillard Jr., was instrumental in helping supporters acquire 500 acres of land, 16 miles from the city limits of Charleston, at the northeast intersection of Interstate 26 and Highway 78. In 1964, trustees were elected by the South Carolina Baptist Convention. Dr. John A. Hamrick, pastor of First Baptist Church of Charleston and founder of First Baptist Church School, was elected the first president of the University by the Board of Trustees in November 1964. The first semester of Charleston Southern University was in the fall of 1965, in buildings of the First Baptist Church of North Charleston. Administrative offices were located in the First Baptist Church of Charleston. Professors from The Citadel and the Medical University offered to serve as part-time professors to supplement the small faculty. The old St. John Hotel, now The Mills House Hotel, offered to rent rooms to house students. By September 1966, buildings on the campus were ready, and the University�s second year began amid construction, landscaping and the physical development of the campus. By the third year, a 60-member faculty was in place, and majors were offered in 17 academic areas. In 1969 the founding class graduated, and by 1971 the school gained full accreditation. In 1984 Dr. Jairy C. Hunter Jr. became the second president of Charleston Southern University. The Graduate Studies Program in Education became accredited in 1986. It was expanded to include concentrations in elementary and secondary education beginning with the 1988 spring term. The School of Business began to offer a Master of Business Administration degree in 1990. In 1993, the School of Education began offering a Master of Education in Educational Administration. In 1999, a Master of Science in Criminal Justice was added to the graduate offerings. In 1991, the University achieved university status and changed its name to Charleston Southern University. The University has grown from an initial student body of 588. There are now many significant campus buildings to provide for the needs of the University. From its beginning the University has sought to provide not only excellent academic opportunities, but has, in all its planning, held to the ideal of the development of the total individual. Employment of personnel deeply committed to assisting each individual student to attain his maximum potential within a Christian environment has made this institution distinctive

300 Acres (121 Ha) Situated Off Exit 205B On I-26.

Tim Scott - United States Senator Keith Summey - North Charleston mayor Warren Peper - Post and Courier columnist, former news and sports anchor for WCSC and WCBD Tessa Spencer - WCIV (ABC) news reporter and anchor and former morning co-host at WWWZ Dr. Samuel E. Gandy - Mt. Sinai Hospital/Alzheimer's research Bobby Parnell - Pitcher for the New York Mets R. J. Swindle - Pitcher in the Tampa Bay Rays organization. Hans Olsen - Women�s tennis coach at North Carolina State University; Former Men�s tennis player at CSU 1989-92 and Head Coach 1997-2001; Big South Hall of Fame and CSU Athletics Hall of Fame. While at CSU, Olsen guided the men�s teams to four consecutive Big South Conference Championships, earning Big South Coach of the Year four times. Charlie Simpkins - Olympic Silver Medalist Tyler Thornburg - Pitcher for the Milwaukee Brewers Andre M. Dukes - Administrator with Charleston County School District

Chief_administrator: Jairy C Hunter Jr (President)
Fax: 8438637070
Phone: 8438637000
Geographic region: Southeast AL AR FL GA KY LA MS NC SC TN VA WV
Financial aid office website:
Net price calculator web address:
Online application website:
Admission office website:
Undergraduate application fee: $40.00
Graduate application fee: $40.00
Member of National Athletic Association: Yes
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): Yes
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC): Yes
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA): Yes
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA): No
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA): No