Colby College

Undergraduates: 1820
Setting: Small four-year, highly residential
In-state Tuition: $43,840.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $43,840.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 10:01
Public/Private: Private
Male/Female Ratio: 47:53
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 28%

Colby College is a private liberal arts college located on Mayflower Hill in Waterville, Maine, USA. Founded in 1813, it is the 12th-oldest independent liberal arts college in the United States. Colby was the first all-male college in New England to accept female students in 1871

The Office of Human Resources develops and coordinates employment, labor relations, compensation, occupational safety and health, and staff development programs to maximize the effectiveness of the human and financial resources available to support the mission of the College by: Coordinating and supporting the employment, retention, evaluation, and recognition of qualified faculty and staff. Providing information and advice to faculty, staff and retired employees in personnel matters. Providing and coordinating personnel and legal advice to senior staff, department chairs and directors, and supervisors. Developing and administering competitive compensation programs. Assisting in the development of an effective communications environment between and among supervisors, faculty and staff. Developing strategies for employment, benefits, labor, and occupational safety and health programs and, where appropriate, compliance with federal and state laws. Facilitating and providing personal and professional training programs. Providing information, advice, and training to supervisors and staff to develop a safe working, living, and learning environment, and assist in developing compliance strategies for environmental and occupational safety and health laws. Providing information and services in the areas of personal safety, facility and property security, parking and traffic control, and fire safety.

On February 27, 1813, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts adopted a petition to establish the Maine Literary and Theological Institution, the 33rd chartered college in the United States. The petition was led by Baptists who had come to the region for missionary work, and who wanted to train their own ministers, to end the reliance on England for providing men of learning. From 1816-1818, the new institution found a home in Waterville on 179 acres of land donated by citizens. In 1818, trustees assigned the institution to Rev. Jeremiah Chaplin, a Baptist theologian. Chaplin arrived in Waterville in the summer of 1818 with his family and seven students, including George Dana Boardman, the institution's first graduate. They were put up in a vacant Waterville home, and in that home the first classes were held. After Maine separated from Massachusetts in 1820, the first Maine legislature affirmed the Massachusetts charter for the institution, but made significant changes. Students could no longer be denied admission based on religion, the institution was prohibited from applying a religious test when selecting board members, and the trustees now had the authority to grant degrees. A turning point, the Maine Literary and Theological Institution was renamed Waterville College on February 5, 1821. In 1822, Elijah Parish Lovejoy, who would become a celebrated martyr to emancipation and to freedom of the press, graduated as valedictorian. In 1825, the theological department was discontinued. In 1833, Rev. Rufus Babcock became Colby's second president, and students formed the nation�s first college-based anti-slavery society. In 1845, the college's first Greek Society was formed, a chapter of Delta Kappa Epsilon, which was followed by chapters of Zeta Psi in 1850 and Delta Upsilon in 1852. During the Civil War, many young men were called away from school to join the fight; from Waterville College, Richard C. Shannon, Henry C. Merriam, and Benjamin Butler. Twenty-seven Waterville College students perished in the war, and more than 100 men from the town. In the years following the war, as was the case at many American colleges, Waterville College was left with few students remaining to pay the bills and a depleted endowment. Waterville College was on the verge of closing


Main article: List of Colby College Alumni Alumni, now numbering more than 25,000, are represented in all 50 states and 75 foreign countries. Alumni remain engaged with the College through alumni programs, affinity groups, and a directory and related services online, all offered by the Office of Alumni Relations. Civil War General Benjamin F. Butler (1838) Former Barclays Chief Executive Officer Robert Diamond (1973) Historian Doris Kearns Goodwin (1964) Harvard Professor, Founder, specialty of Disaster Medicine Gregory Ciottone (1987) Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs and U.S. State Department Spokesman Sean McCormack (1986) US Senator from Florida (1969�1974) Edward Gurney (1935) Pathologist & Author Stephen Sternberg (1941) President and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston Eric S. Rosengren (1979) Scholar and Pulitzer Prize Winner Alan Taylor (1977) Founder of Monmouth College Ivory Quinby (1836) Former White House Chief of Staff Pete Rouse (1968) Abolitionist Elijah P. Lovejoy (1826) Mathematician Marston Morse, founding member of the Institute for Advanced Study (1914)

Chief_administrator: William D. Adams (President)
Fax: 2078594055
Phone: 2078594000
Geographic region: New England CT ME MA NH RI VT
Financial aid office website:
Net price calculator web address:
Online application website:
Admission office website:
Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association: Yes
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): Yes
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC): Yes
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA): Yes
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA): No
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA): No