Coppin State University

Graduates: 324
Undergraduates: 2920
Graduates: 324
Setting: Medium four-year, primarily nonresidential
In-state Tuition: $3,970.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $8,904.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 15:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 863 / / 2.62
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 24:76
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 53%

Coppin State University is a historically black college located in Baltimore, Maryland, United States. It is part of the University System of Maryland. The University is a member-school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund.

Coppin State University is a comprehensive, urban, institution offering programs in liberal arts, sciences and professional disciplines. The University is committed to excellence in teaching, research and continuing service to its community. Coppin State University provides educational access and diverse opportunities for students with a high potential for success and for students whose promise may have been hindered by a lack of social, personal or financial opportunity. High quality academic programs offer innovative curricula and the latest advancements in technology prepare students for new workforce careers in a global economy. To promote achievement and competency, Coppin expects rigorous academic achievement and the highest standards of conduct with individual support, enrichment and accountability. By creating a common ground of intellectual commitment in a supportive learning community, Coppin educates and empowers a diverse student body to lead by the force of its ideas to become critical, creative and compassionate citizens of the community and leaders of the world, with a heart for lifelong learning and dedicated public service. Coppin State University applies its resources to meet urban needs, especially those of Baltimore City, wherever those applications mesh well with its academic programs.

Coppin State University was founded in 1900 at what was then called Colored High School (later named Douglass High School) on Pennsylvania Avenue by the Baltimore City School Board. It first had a one-year training course for the preparation of African-American elementary school teachers. By 1902, the training program was expanded to a two-year Normal Department within the high school. Seven years later it was separated from the high school and given its own principal. In 1926, this facility for teacher training was named Fanny Jackson Coppin Normal School in honor of an African-American woman who was a pioneer in teacher education, Fanny Jackson Coppin. By 1938 the curriculum of the normal school was lengthened to four years, authority was given for the granting of the Bachelor of Science degree, and the name of the Normal School was changed to Coppin Teachers College. In 1950, Coppin became part of the higher education system of Maryland under the State Department of Education, and renamed Coppin State Teachers College. Two years later Coppin moved to its present 38-acre (150,000 m2) site on West North Avenue. In acknowledgment of the goals and objectives of the college, the Board of Trustees ruled in 1963 that the institution's degree-granting authority would no longer be restricted to teacher education. Following this ruling, Coppin was officially renamed Coppin State College, and in 1967 the first Bachelor of Arts degree was conferred. In 1988, the College became part of the newly organized University of Maryland System (now the University System of Maryland.) The school was officially renamed Coppin State University on April 13, 2004. Coppin's first president (1930�1956) was Dr. Miles Connor. He was succeeded by Dr. Parlett Moore in 1956, who served until Dr. Calvin W. Burnett took over as Coppin's third president in 1970. Burnett served the institution for thirty-three years, until Coppin's fourth president, Dr. Stanley F. Battle, was appointed on March 3, 2003. After Dr. Battle departed for North Carolina A&T State University in 2007, Coppin's fifth president, Dr. Reginald Avery was hired. Avery was given a vote of no-confidence by Coppin State faculty in February of 2012 and in October he announced his resignation (effective January 22, 2013)

Urban, 52 Acres (154,000 M�)

Damon Elliott music and film producer and independent record label CEO Bishop L. Robinson first African American Police Commissioner of Baltimore City, 1984�1987 Stephanie Ready 1998 first female coach in professional men's basketball and sideline TV sports reporter Larry Stewart former NBA player for the Washington Bullets and Seattle SuperSonics Raheem DeVaughn R&B and Neo-Soul artist Tywain McKee professional basketball player in Australia for the Wollongong Hawks Margaret "Peggy" Murphy first black woman to chair the Baltimore City Delegation Rafi Reavis Philippine Basketball Association Player, Derby Ace Llamados Dorian Pe�a Philippine Basketball Association Player, San Miguel Beermen Verda Welcome Maryland politician and educator

Chief_administrator: Dr. Mortimer H. Neufville (President)
Fax: 4103335369
Phone: 4109513000
Geographic region: Mid East DE DC MD NJ NY PA
Financial aid office website:
Net price calculator web address:
Online application website:
Admission office website:
Undergraduate application fee: $50.00
Graduate application fee: $50.00
Member of National Athletic Association: Yes
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): Yes
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC): Yes
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA): Yes
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA): No
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA): No