Evergreen State College

Graduates: 316
Undergraduates: 4087
Graduates: 316
Setting: Rural
In-state Tuition: $7,833.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $19,920.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 23:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1607 / 23 / 3.01
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 46:54
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 98%

The Evergreen State College is an accredited public liberal arts college and a member of the Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges. It is located in Olympia, Washington, USA

Welcome to The Evergreen State College's Police Services website - designed to keep you aware of services offered by the department, current crime statistics and general information about the campus police department.

In 1964, a report was issued by the Council of Presidents of Washington State baccalaureate institutions stating that another college was needed in the state to balance the geographical distribution of the existing state institutions. This report spurred the 1965 Washington legislature to create the Temporary Advisory Council on Public Higher Education to study the need and possible location for a new state college. In 1965-66, the Temporary Advisory Council on Public Higher Education (assisted by Nelson Associates of New York) concluded "at the earliest possible time a new college should be authorized", to be located at a suburban site in Thurston County within a radius of approximately 10 miles (16 km) from Olympia. Evergreen's enabling legislation - HB 596 (Chapter 47, Laws of 1967) - stated that the campus should be no smaller than 600 acres (240 ha), making it then the largest campus in the state as well as the first public four-year college created in Washington in the 20th century. On January 24, 1968, The Evergreen State College was selected from 31 choices as the name of the new institution. On November 1, 1968, Charles J. McCann assumed the first presidency of the college. McCann and the founding faculty held the first day of classes October 4, 1971 with 1128 students. McCann served from 1968 until stepping down to join the faculty June 6, 1977 when former Governor Daniel J. Evans, who signed the legislation creating Evergreen, assumed the presidency. Evans left the president's office abruptly in 1983 when he was appointed to the United States Senate to fill the vacancy created by the death of Senator Henry M. Jackson. The largest building on campus is named in honor of Evans, the Daniel J. Evans Library Building. The entrance to the campus bears McCann's name, the Charles J. McCann plaza. In 2004, the college completed the 170,000-square-foot (16,000 m2) Seminar II building, and a significant remodel of the Daniel J. Evans Library is now complete. In 1999, Mumia Abu-Jamal was invited to deliver the keynote address by audiotape for the graduating class at the college. The event was protested heavily. The campus contains a large tract of undeveloped land along the Puget Sound waterfront, much of it being second growth evergreen forest, which is of use to the students and faculty of the campus as a research and natural area. The entire campus comprises about 408 hectares (1,010 acres), much of it forested land. This total includes 11 hectares (27 acres) of southern Puget Sound tidelandsIn addition to the main campus, there is also an organic farm as well as an urban campus located in Tacoma, Washington.

Suburban 1,000 Acres (400 Ha)

Evergreen is notable for having produced a large number of successful graduates in several fields including animation, comedy, and music. Among notable alumni are cartoonists Matt Groening, Craig Bartlett, and Lynda Barry, comedians Josh Blue and Michael Richards, musicians Macklemore, Carrie Brownstein, Kathleen Hanna, Conrad Keely, Tay Zonday, and John Wozniak Martin Courtney, reality television stars John Taylor and Steve Thomas, writers Benjamin Hoff and Tom Maddox and Lynda.com founder Lynda Weinman.

Website: www.evergreen.edu/
Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):