Morgan State University

Graduates: 1361
Undergraduates: 6252
Graduates: 1361
Setting: Medium four-year, primarily residential
In-state Tuition: $4,816.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $14,230.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 13:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 960 / 19 / 3
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 45:55
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 43%

Morgan State University is a historically black college in Baltimore, Maryland, United States. Morgan is Maryland's designated public urban university and the largest HBCU in Maryland.

It is the mission of the Morgan State University Police and Public Safety Department to provide a safe and secure campus environment conducive to education for Morgan State University students, faculty, staff and visitors. It is the mission of the Morgan State University Police and Public Safety Department to support the educational process and the mission of the university and its strategic plan. We are committed to providing the highest quality of police service to our students, faculty, staff and interfacing with the surrounding community.

Morgan State University (MSU) was founded in 1867 as the Centenary Biblical Institute, a Methodist Episcopal seminary, to train young men in the ministry. At the time of his death, Thomas Kelso, cofounder and president of the board of directors, endowed the Male Free School and Colored Institute through a legacy of his estate. It later broadened its mission to educate both men and women as teachers. The school was renamed Morgan College in 1890 in honor of the Reverend Lyttleton Morgan, the first chairman of its Board of Trustees, who donated land to the college. In 1895, the institution awarded its first baccalaureate degree to George F. McMechen, after whom the building of the school of business and management is named today. George F. McMechen later obtained a law degree from Yale University and later became one of Morgan's main financial supporters. In 1915 Andrew Carnegie gave the school a grant of $50,000 for a central academic building. The terms of the grant included the purchase of a new site for the College, payment of all outstanding obligations, and the construction of a building to be named after him. The College met the conditions and moved to its present site in northeast Baltimore in 1917. Then a controversy exploded: in 1918, the white community of Lauraville was incensed that the Ivy Mill property, where Morgan was to be built, had been sold to a "negro" college. It attempted to have the sale revoked by filing suit in the circuit court in Towson, which dismissed the suit. They then appealed the case to the state Court of Appeals. The appellate court upheld the lower court decision, finding no basis that siting the college at this location would constitute a public nuisance. Despite some ugly threats and several demonstrations against the project, Morgan College was allowed to be constructed at the new site and later expanded. Carnegie Hall, the oldest original building on the present MSU campus, was erected a year later. Morgan remained a private institution until 1939. That year, the state of Maryland purchased the school in response to a state study that determined that Maryland needed to provide more opportunities for its black citizens. Morgan College became Morgan State College. In 1975, Morgan added several doctoral programs and its Board of Directors petitioned the Maryland Legislature to be granted University status.

Urban, 143 acres (579,000 m�)

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. was founded at Morgan State University on September 19, 1963.

Chief_administrator: David Wilson (President)
Fax: 4438858272
Phone: 4438853333
Geographic region: Mid East DE DC MD NJ NY PA
Financial aid office website:
Net price calculator web address:
Online application website:
Admission office website:
Undergraduate application fee: $35.00
Graduate application fee: $40.00
Member of National Athletic Association: Yes
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): Yes
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC): Yes
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA): Yes
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA): No
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA): No