Saginaw Valley State

Graduates: 1673
Undergraduates: 8975
Graduates: 1673
Setting: Small
In-state Tuition: $7,985.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $19,338.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 19:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1310 / 22 / 3.20
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 42:58
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 79%

Saginaw Valley State University (SVSU) is a state university in the U.S. state of Michigan. Originally founded in 1963 as Saginaw Valley College, it is located in the middle of Michigan's lower peninsula in Kochville Township, Saginaw County.

However, its official address places it in University Center, Michigan, which it shares with Delta College (which is 3.3 miles (5.3 km) to the north-northwest, in Bay County's Frankenlust Township). It is the youngest of Michigan's 15 public colleges and universities.

As a regional, state-supported institution of higher education, Saginaw Valley State University is committed to providing intellectual and cultural opportunities that enrich the lives of the residents of Saginaw, Bay City and Midland (known as the Great Lakes Bay Region).

To that end, the University seeks to promote a diverse campus culture and to foster respect for the differences that make each individual unique. Learning opportunities at the University should include collaborating with individuals whose experiences, whose cultural, racial or religious background, or whose orientation and perspectives may differ from ones own. 

Higher education in the Saginaw Valley region dates back to the founding of Bay City Junior College in 1922. Though the junior college was replaced by Delta College in 1961, the area still lacked a four-year baccalaureate institution. Saginaw Valley College was founded as a private institution in November 1963, and became a state-supported institution in 1965.

The name changed to Saginaw Valley State College in 1974 and again to Saginaw Valley State University in 1987. Beginnings In 1955, civic leaders in the Saginaw Valley region met to discuss prospects for a local institution of higher education. The next year, a committee of 300 recommended a two-year community college which would expand to a four-year college.

The two-year college, Delta, was approved by voters in 1958 and opened in 1961. Saginaw Valley College Articles of incorporation for what would become Saginaw Valley College (originally called Delta Senior University) were drawn up in 1963, and the state granted a charter to SVC as a private, four-year liberal arts institution. Dr. Samuel D. Marble, the president of Delta College, was appointed president of SVC in 1964.

After concurrently holding both presidencies for four months, he resigned from Delta. The first class of 119 students completed two years at Delta and transferred to SVC. The first commencement ceremony was held in 1966 at a Midland church for a graduating class of ten. A site for a permanent SVC campus (the college was operating out of Delta's basement) was chosen in Kochville Township in 1966 and classes were moved to a building on that site the next year.

Wickes Hall is named for Harvey Randall Wickes, and is the main administrative center on campus. Brown Hall is named for Maurice E. Brown. It houses faculty offices and classrooms. The Melvin J. Zahnow Library houses over 200,000 print volumes and over 400,000 non-print items.

Dallas Cowboys defensive tackle Rob Callaway Congressman Bart Stupak Congressman, State Representative, and State Senator James A. Barcia B.A. (who received an honorary doctorate from SVSU in 2001) University of Texas women's basketball coach Gail Goestenkors (formerly coach at Duke U.)

Philadelphia Eagles offensive guard Todd Herremans Jacksonville Jaguars defensive lineman Paul Spicer Former Seattle Seahawks defensive end Lamar King Buffalo Bills linebacker John DiGiorgio Former Buffalo Bills linebacker Eugene Marve St. Louis Rams wide receiver Ruvell Martin Houston Texans wide receiver Glenn Martinez Virginia Destroyer tight end Galen Stone Toronto Argonauts corner back Matt Black Michigan.

Alumni Association:

Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):