Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Graduates: 847
Undergraduates: 9152
Graduates: 847
Setting: Suburban
In-state Tuition: $4,794.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $15,414.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 22:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1446 / 20 / 3.24
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 41:59
Campus Housing: No
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: No
Acceptance Rate: 60%

Texas A&M University�Corpus Christi is a state university located in Corpus Christi, Texas, United States, on Ward Island in Oso Bay. The university is part of the Texas A&M University System

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi is an expanding, doctoral-granting institution committed to preparing graduates for lifelong learning and responsible citizenship in the global community. We are dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, creative activity and service. Our supportive, multicultural learning community provides undergraduate and graduate students with a challenging educational experience through residential, distance learning and international programs. The university's federal designation as a Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) provides a foundation for closing educational gaps, while its strategic location on the Gulf of Mexico and on the cultural border with Latin America provides a basis for gaining national and international prominence.

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi traces its beginning to 1947 as the area�s premier institution of higher education. Today, we�re part of The Texas A&M University System, a network of nine universities, seven state agencies and a comprehensive health science center. The following dates are significant milestones marking our amazing transformation. 1947 - Ward Island becomes home to the University of Corpus Christi (UCC), an institution affiliated with the Baptist General Convention of Texas. A total of 312 students are enrolled. 1970 - Hurricane Celia causes more than $1 million in damage to the campus. 1971 - Legislature authorizes the Texas A&I University System to establish a state-supported upper-level institution of higher education in Corpus Christi. 1973 - Texas A&I University at Corpus Christi opens its doors on Sept. 4, 1973, to 969 students as an upper-level institution offering courses at the junior, senior and graduate levels. 1977 - The Legislature changes the school�s name to Corpus Christi State University. 1989 - Corpus Christi State University joins The Texas A&M University System. 1992 - The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board authorizes the University�s first doctoral degree program. 1993 - The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents renames the institution Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. A year later, it becomes a four-year comprehensive university and enrollment increases to 5,000 students. 1997 - The University revives its intercollegiate athletics program. Today, A&M-Corpus Christi competes in 14 men�s and women�s sports as a member of the Southland Conference. 2004 - The Board of Regents approves the University�s College of Nursing and Health Sciences which opened the following year. 2005 - Dr. Flavius Killebrew becomes the University�s President/CEO and initiates Momentum 2015, a 10-year plan to establish Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi as the flagship university for South Texas. For more in-depth history, read Dr. Thomas H. Kreneck�s introduction to �Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi: The Island University.� Kreneck is associate director of Special Collections & Archives at the Mary and Jeff Bell Library and curates the historical records of the University.

Urban, 240 Acres (970,000 M�)

Film directors Duane Graves and Justin Meeks graduated with communication arts degrees in 1999. Their debut motion picture The Wild Man of the Navidad, released by IFC Films, was co-produced by Kim Henkel, a professor at the university who was a co-writer of The Texas Chain Saw Massacre. Raul Torres, State Representative from District 33 in Nueces County

Website: www.tamucc.edu/?
Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):