University of Charleston

Graduates: 401
Undergraduates: 1386
Graduates: 401
Setting: Urban
In-state Tuition: $19,500.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $19,500.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 14:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1070 / 22 / 3.38
Public/Private: Private
Male/Female Ratio: 43:57
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 60%

The University of Charleston, formerly Morris Harvey College, is a private accredited university based in Charleston, West Virginia, United States.

The Department of Education at the University of Charleston (UC) prepares students who will be committed educators, lifelong learners, and community servants. More specifically, the education faculty provides students with the opportunity to develop the knowledge (KNOW), skills (DO), and dispositions (BE) to become an effective educator.

The school was founded in 1888 as the Barboursville Seminary of the Southern Methodist Church. In 1901, it was renamed Morris Harvey College, in honor of a devoted supporter. A building behind a wall that reads "University of Charleston" and another building with a glass parapet, with a river running in front The University of Charleston from across the Kanawha River In 1935 the school moved to downtown Charleston and affiliated with the Mason College of Fine Arts and Music. In 1940, it became independent of the Methodist Church. In 1947, the school moved to its present campus in the Kanawha City section of Charleston across the river from the State Capitol. In 1951, it purchased the Young-Noyes House as the home of the college president. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. The college fell on hard times after the end of the military draft and college deferment during the Vietnam War and offered itself to the state in 1975, which refused the gift. In December 1978, the school changed its name to the University of Charleston. Beginning with the inauguration of the current president, Dr. Edwin H. Welch, the school has undergone a physical and academic transformation. Four new residence halls, a parking garage, a fitness center, an academic building housing the library, computer and science labs, and a new school of pharmacy have been built since 1998. On January 1, 2013, UC established its first branch campuses in Beckley and Martinsburg: the University of Charleston-Beckley and the University of Charleston-Martinsburg, respectively. Both had previously been campuses of Mountain State University


Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):