South Dakota School of Mines & Tech.

Graduates: 312
Undergraduates: 2329
Graduates: 312
Setting: Suburban
In-state Tuition: $4,170.00
Out-of-state Tuition: $7,000.00
Student/Faculty Ratio: 14:01
SAT / ACT / GPA: 1707 / 26 / 3.51
Public/Private: Public
Male/Female Ratio: 78:22
Campus Housing: Yes
Religious Affiliation: N/A
Campus Housing: Yes
Acceptance Rate: 87%

The South Dakota School of Mines and Technology (SDSM&T, Tech, or Mines) is a public institution of higher learning in Rapid City, South Dakota governed by the South Dakota Board of Regents. Founded in 1885 as the Dakota School of Mines, Tech offers degree programs in engineering and science fields. 2,311 students were enrolled in fall 2011. The school athletic teams are called the Hardrockers.

The mission of the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is to provide a well-rounded education that prepares students for leadership roles in engineering and science; to advance the state of knowledege and application of this knowledge through research and scholarship; and to benefit the state, regions, and nation through collaborative efforts in education and economic development.

The cornerstone of the first School of Mines building was dedicated on August 19, 1885, with the first classes being held February 21, 1887. John W. Hancher received the first bachelor of science degree at the first commencement on May 31, 1888. The School of Mines presented exhibits during the 1904 World's Fair[7] and the first licensed radio station in the state of South Dakota was established on campus in December 1911, a full decade before WCAT (the precursor the current campus station KTEQ-FM). The first "M-Day" homecoming celebration occurred on October 5, 1912 with the construction of the "M" on M-Hill, the school's mountain monogram.[8] The school's ROTC battalion was formed in 1918 in response to World War I. The football stadium began construction in 1931 and was completed as "O'Harra Field" in 1938. The school formally became the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in February 1943. In September 2012, SDSM&T made national news when Bloomberg announced that it had passed Harvard in the category of starting salaries for graduates.On September 19, Tech President Dr. Robert A. Wharton died due to complications of cancer treatments. During the presidential search, Duane C. Hrncir was the interim President. On April 25, 2013, the School of Mines announced that Heather Wilson will become the first female president in the school's 128-year history, starting in June 2013.

120 Acres (49�Ha)

James Abourezk, former U.S. Representative and U.S. Senator from South Dakota, and the first Arab-American to serve in the U.S. Senate. D. Sherwin Artus, Director, Former CEO, of Whiting Petroleum Corp. Richard H. Frank, President and CEO of Darby Emerging Markets Fund. Former Managing Director at the World Bank Group. Marty Jackley, Current Attorney General of South Dakota. Tony Jensen, President and CEO of Royal Gold. Kurt Kost, President, Alpha Natural Resources. Past President of Society of Mining Engineers. Walter Dale Miller, 34th Lieutenant Governor of South Dakota and 29th Governor of South Dakota Cmdr. George Philip, posthumous winner of the Navy Cross for actions as commander of USS Twiggs (DD-591) and namesake of USS George Philip (FFG-12). Susan Opp, President of L-3 Communications Systems - West Dr. Tim Osswald, professor of mechanical engineering at University of Wisconsin-Madison Dean M. Peterson, inventor the Kodak Instamatic camera and the "point-and-shoot" camera Frank Richardson, former President and CEO of Shell Oil. Dr. Marcus R. Ross, paleontologist, young earth creationist, and professor of geology at Liberty University Leonard Schmid, former World War II U.S. Navy captain. Ajmal Shams, current president of the Afghan Social Democratic Party. Jim Shaw, former mayor of Rapid City, South Dakota Emery Stephans, President and CEO of Enterprise Analysis Corporation. Karen Swindler, Senior Vice President, North American Manufacturing of LyondellBasell Industries Gary R. Veurink, Divisional Vice President of the Dow Chemical Company.

Undergraduate application fee: $0.00
Graduate application fee: $0.00
Member of National Athletic Association:
Member of National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA):
Member of National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIC):
Member of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA):
Member of National Small College Athletic Association (NSCAA):
Member of National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA):